Expanded In-home Services for the Elderly Program (EISEP)

The Expanded In-home Services for the Elderly Program (EISEP) enables frail, functionally impaired seniors to remain in their homes. It gives them access to a well-planned, coordinated package of in-home and other supportive services designed to supplement informal care from their families.

EISEP is administered by the New York State Office for the Aging and managed locally through the Rockland County Office for the Aging. It is a uniform statewide program that provides non-medical in-home services, day care and ancillary services for functionally impaired elderly.

  • In-home Services-Consisting of provision of assistance with bathing, dressing, general grooming, transferring in/out of bed/chair; also light housecleaning, meal preparation and shopping.
  • Non-Institutional Respite-to temporarily relieve the client's primary informal caregiver from the stresses and strains assiciated with caregiving. Types of respite include companion service and social adult day care.
  • Ancillary Services-designed to meet the different and unique needs of the individual, which affect his/her ability to remain at home. Types of ancillary services Personal Emergency Response Systems (lifeline).


The person must be:

  • at least 60 years old.
  • impaired in IADL's - 'Instrumental Activities of Daily Living' (such as meal preparation, housekeeping or shopping) and/or  ADL's- 'Activities of Daily Living' (such as bathing, dressing or general grooming).
  • able to be maintained safely at home.
  • not be a Medicaid recipient or eligible for Medicaid.

EISEP is a means testing program. Payment for services is determined based on income and expenses (such as social security, pensions, dividends and interest, rent/mortgages, utilities, etc).


Contributions are voluntary and confidential and are used to expand the services for which they are received. No one will be denied services because of an inability or unwillingness to contribute. 

Services are funded in part by the Administration on Community Living, New York State Office for the Aging and the Rockland County Office for the Aging.