When Does the Planning Board Meet?

The next Planning Board meeting will be held on Thursday, October 12, 2023 at 6:30 pm.  The Board meets regularly on the second Thursday of each month.

WHO:       Rockland County Planning Board
WHAT:     Meeting of the Board
WHEN:     Thursday October 12, 2023 at 6:30 pm
WHERE:   Rockland County Department of Planning
                  Sanatorium Road, Building T, Pomona, NY 10970

The County of Rockland is committed to full compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act. To that end, the County is committed to creating an accessible environment for all and to delivering services in an accessible manner to the greatest extent possible. As noted, a meeting is scheduled. To request accommodations that you may require, please notify the Rockland County Planning Department at (845) 364-3434 in advance so that we may make every effort to meet your needs.

Rockland County Planning Board

The Rockland County Planning Board advises the Commissioner of Planning, the County Executive and the County Legislature in matters relating to planning and shall have and exercise such other and related duties required by the them. In addition, the Board advises the Planning Commissioner in matters related to comprehensive metropolitan, regional, county and municipal planning.

Board Minutes:

What Is The Planning Board?

The board is comprised of a diverse group of county residents.  It includes engineers, architects, real estate developers, contractors, utility company employees, and retirees.  The Planning Board members serve in an advisory capacity to the Commissioner of Planning with regard to the reviews undertaken by the Department of Planning as required under New York State General Municipal Law (GML).  The specific GML Section 239-l, m and n actions subject to a review by the Planning Board include:

  • A zone change or a change of use on a site abutting a state or county road, or state or county park.
  • A use variance on a site abutting a state or county road, or state or county park.
  • A special permit application for a site abutting a state or county road, or state or county park.
  • Subdivisions creating ten or more lots, or of 25 or more acres, for parcels within 500 feet of or directly abutting a municipal boundary, state or county road, state or county park, or state or county facility other than a park.
  • Site plans for parcels abutting a state or county road, or state or county park, and for which a Full Environmental Assessment Form and/or Draft Environmental Impact Statement has been prepared.
  • Site plans for parcels abutting or within 500 feet of a county road for the development of non-residential buildings of more than 40,000 SF and residential projects on more than two acres or containing more than 20 units.

The Commissioner of Planning can also request that the Planning Board review other GML applications that may have an inter-municipal impact or an effect on county or state roads and facilities. Additional information can be found in the Planning Board By-Laws.

How Was The Board Formed?
The Rockland County Planning Board, a Board of County Government, was established in 1929, and was reorganized, with the addition of technical staff, in 1952. On January 1st, 1986, a newly enacted County Charter and Code changed the responsibilities and membership of the Planning Board. The Board is now composed of nine (9) members appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the Legislature, and two (2) ex-officio members, the Chairperson of the Parks Commission and the Environmental Management Council. At least one resident from each town shall be on the Planning Board. Members serve for a term of four (4) years [after the initial appointments, which include some for three (3) and two (2) years]. If a vacancy shall occur otherwise than by expiration of a term, it shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired term by the County Executive.

Rockland County Planning Board Members:

Steven M. Silverberg - Chairman (Orangetown)
Brian McFarland - Vice-Chair (Ramapo)

Ronald Diz - Secretary (Haverstraw)

Neil Cosgrove (Clarkstown)

Dean Pearce, P.E. (Clarkstown)

Joseph T. Caruso P.E., P.P. (Ramapo)

Michael Parietti (Ramapo)
Timothy D. Scott (Ramapo)

Thomas Gubitosa (Stony Point)


Ex-Officio Members:
Glenn Sungela - Environmental Management Council

Rockland County Department of Planning:

Douglas J. Schuetz - Commissioner of Planning (Acting)
Rich Schiafo - Principal Planner
Jake Palant - Associate Planner

Rockland County Department of Law:

Eugene Bondar - Principal Assistant County Attorney