What is UV radiation?
UV radiation is a form of energy from natural sunlight or from a tanning device such as a sunlamp, tanning booth or tanning bed that is not visible to the human eye. It is classified as carcinogenic to humans and can cause cancer. Exposure to UV radiation increases your health risks. The purpose of the Commercial Tanning Facilities Program is to permit and inspect commercial tanning facilities, as well as increase the public's knowledge of the hazards of indoor tanning, minimize user injuries and limit tanning access by minors.
Are indoor tanning devices safer than tanning in natural sunlight?
No. The UV radiation produced by indoor tanning devices can cause the same damage to the skin as natural sunlight. Exposure to UV radiation, whether from an indoor tanning device or from natural sunlight, increases health risks for everyone.
For persons who choose to expose themselves to UV radiation from indoor tanning devices:
Always wear FDA-certified protective eyewear. If you don't have your own FDA-certified protective eyewear, request it from the tanning facility operator or employee. Learn your skin type and understand the exposure limits recommended by the manufacturer of the tanning device.
Seek medical attention for severe burns, allergic reactions and unusual skin lesions or sores. Report any injuries or adverse reactions promptly to the tanning facility operator or employee.
A Permit to Operate a tanning facility is required by the Rockland County Department of Health. A Permit to Operate is valid for 2 years.
Tanning Access by Minors
Effective August 15, 2012, New York State Regulation (Part 72-1.8) prohibits persons under seventeen (17) years of age from using UV radiation devices. Customers seventeen (17) years of age and their parent or legal guardian must sign a consent form before using UV radiation devices. Customers eighteen (18) years of age or older must provide a driver's license or other photo identification, issued by a government entity or educational institution, before using UV radiation devices.
- Tanning Hazards Information Sheet -must be read by each customer.
- Statement of Acknowledgement Form -must be signed by each customer.
- Parental Consent Form -must be signed by customers 17 years of age and their parent or legal guardian.
- New York State Warning Sign -must be posted in the immediate proximity of each UV device. The operator shall enter the manufacturer's maximum exposure time on the sign for the device it is posted near.
- Rockland County Warning Sign -17" x 22" sign must be posted on each device and at facility entrance.
- Injury and Illness Report -must be completed and submitted to Department of Health within 24 hours if injury or illness from UV device occurs.
- Rockland County Sanitary Code Article XIV - Commercial Tanning Facilities
- NYSDOH Part 72, Subpart 72-1 - Tanning Facilities
- FDA 21 CFR 1040.20 - Sunlamp products & ultraviolet lamps for use in sunlamp products