(1) COUNTY & TOWN TAX
Paid to the Receiver in each town
CLARKSTOWN (845) 639-2040
HAVERSTRAW (845) 429-2200
ORANGETOWN (845) 359-5100
RAMAPO (845) 357-5100
STONY POINT (845) 786-2717
The Receivers collect this tax from:
If taxes are paid in:
January - Interest Free
February - 1% Interest
March - 2% Interest
(2) QUARTERLY INSTALLMENT PLAN
The County & Town Tax may be paid on a quarterly basis with a 5% Service Charge. The following towns offer this plan:
These payments are due:
January 15th - to the Receiver of your town
April 15th - to the Commissioner of Finance
July 15th - to the Commissioner of Finance
Oct. 15th - to the Commissioner of Finance
The 1st payment due January 15th is paid to the Receiver of your town.
The 2nd, 3rd, and 4th payments are paid to the Commissioner of Finance.
Failure to make any Quarterly Payment when due, the entire unpaid balance will be due, plus a 5% penalty, and 1% interest per month until paid.
(3) ALL REGULAR TAX
Not taking the Quarterly Option:
If your taxes are not paid to the Receiver, as of March 31st each year, your account is turned over to the Commissioner of Finance as of April 1st.
5% Penalty will be added
1% Interest per month or part of from February 1st until date paid
(4) INSTALLMENT PLAN:
May 1st each year (for current taxes), you may apply for an Installment Agreement to all those who qualify. Upon signing the agreement a:
5% down-payment will be required.
The balance can be spread over 12 or 24 months with a 12% interest charge per year.
**PLEASE NOTE: Effective January 1, 2015, the required minimum down payment will be increased to 20%
This plan can be paid in full at any time.
Call this office for details (845) 638-5278 or (845) 638-5288
3rd YEAR DELINQUENCY
EXAMPLE: 2010 year taxes will be subject to foreclosure on or about June, 2012.
STAR PROGRAM, SENIOR DISCOUNTS & ASSESSMENTS:
You must contact the Assessor's Office in the town in which you live.
Frequently asked questions
1. I never received my bill, and/or reminder notice, or received it late, do I still have to pay the penalty?
Yes, the failure to mail a statement or the failure of a property owner to receive a statement will not affect the validity of the taxes or interest prescribed by the law (New York State Real Property Tax Law §922).
In addition, neither the Receiver of Taxes nor any other official has legal authority to waive statutory penalty charges. These are fixed by the Real Property Tax Law. If they are waived, the collecting officer will be personally responsible. As the State examiners audit all records, there is absolutely no discretion in this matter. The Constitution and the law of the State mandate the procedure.
2. If I mail my payment on the due date do I have to pay a penalty?
In order to avoid any possibility of delay by mail, we suggest that if payment is to be made within the last few days of the month in which due, make certain that you witness a TIMELY OFFICIAL UNITED STATES POSTMARK being affixed to the envelope. Postage meters and foreign postmarks are not acceptable.
New York State Law provides that a municipality cannot waive penalties on Real Estate taxes received after the due date FOR ANY REASON.
Where an envelope containing payment of local property taxes contains no United States postmark date, payment of such taxes should be deemed to have been made on the date the payment is received, and if penalties for late payment result from such treatment, the burden is on the taxpayer to show that payment was timely (New York State Real Property Tax Law §924).
3. Do you accept payment with credit cards?
Yes, the County of Rockland is now authorized to accept credit card payments with Master Card, Visa, Discover and American Express.
These payments cannot be accepted "over the counter". The taxpayer may use the Internet computer available in the tax office.
If you have any questions, please contact the Tax Office at 845-638-5278.
4. Can I pay my taxes in installments?
Yes, you may.
Installment Payment Option Plan: If your total tax is more than $50.00, you have the option of paying your County/Town tax in monthly installments. Please call the office for more information at 845-638-5278.
5. What if my mailing address changes?
Address changes must be made in writing. Notify your town's assessor's office by mail or fax if you wish to change your mailing address prior to notifying the county's tax office at 845-638-5278.